Magic!

I’m really good at starting projects and really quite poor at seeing them to completion. Or in the case of this blog, keeping it going. However, I have not yet given up and it may be that posts pop up more often in the future now.

image

I’ve spent the intervening period moving house, well, moving flat. It took a very long time (there was a cross-over period between leaving the old flat and also being in the new one) partly because I moved all of my belongings myself. Fairly eye-opening in terms of how much stuff I actually have and hard work too. And then there was some inevitable decorating and sorting hence the radio silence.

image

But I’m moved now and I very much like where I am now, even though half of my life is still in boxes (and probably will be for the foreseeable future – see comment above regarding being poor at completing projects ;-)). And in a week or so I’ve got a pretty major experiment going on which will hopefully result in more blog posts. Fingers crossed for all sorts of reasons there!

In the meantime those who know me well will understand that although many things remain packed my cookery books are happily on shelves and I have been reunited with the joy of browsing through them. Prime candidates for this activity at the moment are Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s (HFW) books River Cottage Everyday, Veg Everyday and Three Good Things. Every time I open one of these I invariably want to make whatever is on the open page. Always a good sign.

image

I was recently talking to someone who knows me and my love of baking well and they recommended the ‘Magic Dough’ in Veg everyday. Despite currently having the world’s smallest oven (that’s one of the things yet to be sorted in the new flat but I couldn’t be without an oven so I have a Lakeland toaster oven at the moment, and no, they’ve not sponsored this post…) I decided to give it a go.

image

Most of my bread recently has had a dairy base so it was a bit of a change to use just flour, water, salt and olive oil here. The recipe is available online here on the Guardian website. Half soft plain flour and half strong flour meant the dough was soft and pliable to work with. I divided the dough into twelve equal balls (yes, I did weigh them…)

image

I decided to make six rolls (Hugh recommends this as a versatile dough), a sort-of-pizza and then freeze the remaining five portions of dough for later use. I’ve no experience of freezing dough (I did it after knocking it back) so any comments welcome! Otherwise it’ll be a case of wait-and-see as to whether the frozen dough ever escapes the confines of it’s icy lair…

wpid-wp-1432475291923.jpeg

So I had my sort-of-pizza for lunch one day when I was in no particular hurry. Thick slices of courgette very slowly softened in a little oil were then allowed to cool before being placed onto the dough which helpfully pushed out to a good size without springing back and was then topped with parmesan. I know mozzarella is more usual but I once had pizza melanzane in Italy with parmesan on it and it was the most delicious pizza ever. And from a practical point of view I always have parmesan on hand and rarely buy mozzarella.

image

Delicious, can’t wait to see how the frozen dough works out because I’ve got plenty more ideas for toppings!

I’m going to add this to Bookmarked Recipes because I’ve had this book for years and have so many bookmarks sticking out of it to make. The recommendation prompted this to be bumped up to the top of the list!

Magic!

Leave a Reply

